Free Consultation. Call 24/7 and leave a voicemail. We will call back quickly!
970-368-2321
Your Rights. Your Future. Your Freedom.
View Our Practice Areas

What is the penalty for DUI in Colorado?

Drivers who are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Colorado may face various penalties. State law says that drivers with a blood alcohol content of more than .05 percent but less than .08 percent may be considered driving while impaired by alcohol. Drivers who have a BAC of more than .08 percent may be considered driving while under the influence of alcohol.

A first-time offender may have his or her license suspended for nine months. The penalty increases to 24 months for a third BAC test of .08 percent or higher. Those who are found to be driving while impaired by alcohol will not receive a license suspension. However, 8 points may be added to that driver's license. If a driver accumulates sufficient points, he or she may be subject to penalties such as license suspension or revocation.

Drivers under the age of 21 who have a BAC of between .02 percent and .05 percent could face a license suspension of up to a year. In addition, four points will be added to the driver's license. Futhermore, according to state law, any driver who accumulates three or more DUIs or DWAIs within a period of seven years will be labeled a habitual traffic offender, which could result in a five-year license suspension. Fines and other costs to reinstate a license may also be consequences for violating drunk driving laws.

Those who are facing drunk or impaired driving charges may face jail time, fines or license suspension. Hiring a DUI defense attorney may help a driver to dispute the charges in court. It may be possible to argue that a blood or breath test was conducted improperly or that the machine used to take the test was not properly calibrated. As every case is unique, information in this article should not be construed as legal advice.

Source: Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services, "Colorado Drunk Driving Laws", October 07, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Tell Me What Happened

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Contact the Law Offices of J.B. Katz, P.C.

Breckenridge Office
P.O. Box 5200
101 N. Main Street, Suite 3
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Phone: 970-368-2321
Fax: 720-208-0630
Breckenridge Law Office Map

Breckenridge Office
US Postal Mailing Address
P.O. Box 5200
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Map & Directions