Free Consultation. Call 24/7 and leave a voicemail. We will call back quickly!
970-368-2321
Your Rights. Your Future. Your Freedom.
View Our Practice Areas

A DUI arrest could temporarily stop your driving privileges

Driving privileges are invaluable. After all, they essentially enable you to provide for yourself and/or your family by getting to your place of employment every day. If you work as a commercial driver, driving privileges provide your livelihood. Losing your driving privileges can also be devastating if you are responsible for getting the children to school or have no other way of making your medical appointments. In addition, just the thought of losing the freedom that comes with being able to drive can be demoralizing in and of itself.

Unfortunately, your driving privileges could easily disappear as a result of a charge of drunk driving. Likewise, your privileges may be in jeopardy due to a repeat DUI offense or a reported connection to an accident involving driving under the influence. In this situation, you have the right to state your case before the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles in administrative hearings.

DUI consequences

In Colorado, you face severe consequences if convicted of driving under the influence in the state. The penalties are as follows:

  • First-time DUI offense: If your blood alcohol level is .08, the court will suspend your driver's license for nine months. You can apply for reinstatement after a period of 30 days, and you will have to use an ignition interlock device for the other eight months of the nine-month period.
  • Second-time DUI offense: The court will revoke your driver's license for a year. In addition, you will have to use an ignition interlock device for a couple of years following reinstatement.
  • Three-plus DUI offenses: The court will revoke your driver's license for two years.

State law

According to Colorado revised statutes, if you would like to get your driver's license reinstated, you must submit a reinstatement application to the Colorado Department of Revenue. Then, you will be required to take some tests. Your reinstatement will come after you complete these tests and submit proof of the completion of an alcohol education course.

The reinstatement fee in Colorado is around $95. If you end up driving with a suspended driver's license stemming from a drunk driving conviction, this is considered a misdemeanor, with consequences including up to six months behind bars, a fine of up to $500 and the increase of your license suspension by one year.

However, you may be able to avoid the loss of your privileges altogether by being proactive immediately following your DUI arrest. The faster you request a hearing after being arrested for driving under the influence in Colorado, the more likely it is to increase your chances of preserving your driver's license.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Tell Me What Happened

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Contact the Law Offices of J.B. Katz, P.C.

Breckenridge Office
P.O. Box 5200
101 N. Main Street, Suite 3
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Phone: 970-368-2321
Fax: 720-208-0630
Breckenridge Law Office Map

Breckenridge Office
US Postal Mailing Address
P.O. Box 5200
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Map & Directions