Many Colorado drivers do not realize that DUI is a defensible charge. There is a number of good and valid reasons a person who would not otherwise drive while intoxicated may do so, and that may cause the charges to be reduced or even dismissed. While every DUI case is different, it is possible to successfully defend against a DUI and avoid fines, jail time and other potential consequences.
A 57-year-old man was recently indicted by a grand jury in Colorado on nine charges in relation to an alleged DUI accident in Arapahoe County. The 57-year-old man reportedly has 20 previous citations for alcohol-related convictions and has been convicted 16 times. Most of these convictions took place in Colorado.
On Oct. 16, Colorado Springs police took a woman into custody on multiple criminal charges. According to authorities, police made contact with the woman after they received a call about a group of individuals using illegal narcotics inside parked vehicles in an alleyway near the intersection of Platte Avenue and Circle Drive.
Drivers who are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Colorado may face various penalties. State law says that drivers with a blood alcohol content of more than .05 percent but less than .08 percent may be considered driving while impaired by alcohol. Drivers who have a BAC of more than .08 percent may be considered driving while under the influence of alcohol.
After a Denver bus driver was taken into custody for allegedly ignoring a stop sign on Sept. 1 and driving while impaired, officials announced that they intend to file charges in the case. Although a misdemeanor charge was originally filed, prosecutors withdrew that charge with the intention of filing a felony charge. The driver is no longer working until the investigation is completed.
Canon City police and Freemont County sheriff's authorities say that they detained a woman just after midnight on Aug. 26 in connection with the robbery of the Bank of Colorado in Olathe on Aug. 20. A warrant for the woman was filed in Montrose County Court two days after the robbery, and she faces two class four felony charges for theft and aggravated robbery. The penalty for a class four felony includes two to six years imprisonment.
Being charged with domestic violence is a very serious situation. As a result, an individual who is facing such allegations would likely wish to understand the situation and the options that he or she has. If creating a defense is plausible for an individual facing domestic violence charges, gathering relevant and beneficial evidence could be key in building a meaningful defense that could help his or her case.
When charges are initially brought against a person, they typically stem from the initial reports that authorities draw up. As the investigations continue and trials move forward, those charges could potentially change. For instance, an individual who was initially charged with felony allegations due to involvement in a fatal DUI accident could potentially have those allegations reduced if parties deem it fit.
When a situation escalates quickly, individuals who are in charge may request outside assistance from law enforcement. In this type of situation, a party could find himself facing serious charges if the situation continues to increase in severity. Those charges could potentially include assault on a peace officer if authorities believe a suspect to have harmed an officer.