Breckenridge Sex Offender Registry Removal LawyerClick For A Free Consultation
Having to register as a sex offender can be one of the most problematic situations a person faces in their entire life. It will be next to impossible to obtain employment, and being on the registry will always affect where a person can live. Without a comfortable place to live and employment to make money, life is incredibly difficult. If you are on the sex offender registry and need help being removed, an experienced criminal defense attorney can help. I have been assisting people with this for decades and will do whatever it takes to help improve your life. Contact me today for a free consultation.
Who is Required to Register?
In the state of Colorado, registering as a sex offender is a penalty for many convictions. The most common crimes for which an individual will be required to register as a sex offender include the following:
- Sexual assault
- Unlawful sexual contact
- Sexual assault on a child & sexual assault on a child by a person in a position of trust
- Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist
- Indecent exposure
- Sexual exploitation of children
This is not an exhaustive list; there are many other crimes that require sex offender registry. If you live in Colorado, registration is required even if you were convicted of the crime out of state.
How Long Must An Individual Remain on the Registry?
How long you’re required to remain on the registry depends on which crime you were convicted of. Any sexually violent predators are required to remain on the registry for life. If you were convicted of sexual assault on a child, felony sexual assault, sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust, sexual assault on a child by a psychotherapist, incest, or aggravated incest, you will never be able to remove your name from the sex offender registry. Additionally, anyone convicted of more than one unlawful sexual behavior will be required to remain on the registry for life.
If you were convicted of another class 1, 2 or 3 felony, you must remain on the registry for 20 years. Other class 4, 5, and 6 felonies, and class 1 misdemeanor sexual assault and sexual contact convictions require you to remain on the registry for 10 years. If you received a deferred sentence and adjudication, or you were under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, you must remain on the registry until the case is dismissed.
How to Be Removed from the Registry
Once you have been on the registry for the required number of years, and if you haven’t been convicted of any other sex crime in that time, you should be eligible to be removed from the registry. In order to do this, you will need to complete a form to discontinue sex offender registration. Additionally, you must notify the law enforcement agency you’re required to register with, the prosecutor in the jurisdiction of that law enforcement agency, and the prosecuting attorney who convicted you.
This is an incredibly important process that can help you move forward in your life once and for all, so contacting an experienced lawyer is crucial. Making mistakes on the forms or not notifying the correct agencies could cause a significant delay.
Contact Me Today
I have more than 20 years of experience and will do everything it takes to ensure you get the help you need. I completely understand the impact that being a registered sex offender can have on someone’s life. For a free initial consultation about your case, please call my Breckenridge office at (970) 453-5533 or send me an email.