Driving under the influence is a serious issue that results in thousands of deaths per year in Colorado and the rest of the country. People make mistakes. Some people make the same mistake more than once. A felony charge for driving under the influence (DUI) comes when a person has been charged with the crime for a fourth or subsequent time in Colorado. Today, we will take a look at the penalties for felony DUI in the state.
A person charged with a fourth or subsequent DUI in Colorado faces the following penalties if convicted:
- A mandatory sentence of 90 days in prison
- No more than 180 days in prison
- No option for a reduction in sentence due to good behavior
- Defendant does receive credit for time served after initial arrest and prior to being convicted
Another sentencing option is as follows:
- Mandatory 120 days in prison
- No more than two years in prison using an alternative program, if it is available through the county
- A defendant is not eligible for early release for good behavior during the first 120 days in prison
- The defendant is eligible for time served from arrest to conviction if he or she spent time in jail
If the offender receives a probation sentence, the penalties are as follows:
- 48 to 120 hours of public service
- Completion of a Level II alcohol and driving safety program
- Consideration for imposing other conditions of the probation
Felony DUI is a serious crime in Colorado that comes with harsh penalties. It’s important to know what you could be facing if you are charged with DUI for a fourth or subsequent time in the state so you can fight the charges against you appropriately.