The facts on Colorado fake ID penalties
Although recreational cannabis is legal in Colorado, you must be at least 21 years old to purchase marijuana products at a dispensary in the state. Like liquor stores, dispensaries contend with shoppers who attempt to get around these laws with a fake ID.
Whether you are a Colorado resident or tourist, a fake ID conviction can have serious consequences. If you or your minor child tried to use a fake ID at a dispensary and received a citation, take action to avoid harsh penalties.
State fake ID laws
Possessing or using false identification such as a driver’s license to purchase cannabis at a dispensary is a Class 3 misdemeanor under Colorado law. If you receive a conviction, you are responsible for fines between $50 and $750 and could receive up to six months in jail. However, most offenders get probation in lieu of jail time.
Missing a court date
Tourists accrue many of Colorado’s fake ID charges. After receiving a ticket, they get a summons in the mail. Ignoring this court date because you live in another state will not make it go away. In fact, you could be subject to more significant penalties.
If you fail to appear in court, the city will issue a warrant for your arrest. Failure to appear is a separate crime and may be a misdemeanor or a felony. You could receive fines and/or jail time for this offense depending on the circumstances of your case. If you paid bail in conjunction with a fake ID arrest, your bail amount is forfeit.
Even if a dispensary seizes your fake ID and contacts law enforcement, a criminal defense attorney can argue on your behalf in court. You should seek legal advice as soon as you receive a summons for this offense. In some cases, the court will downgrade the crime to a municipal offense, which means you will not have a criminal record that could affect higher education or employment opportunities.