Could I be charged with a weapons offense?
If you were previously convicted of a felony, you have lost your right to carry and possess weapons. If Colorado law enforcement finds you with a weapon, you could be facing additional felony or misdemeanor charges.
Per the Colorado Revised Statutes, it is a felony to possess or use illegal weapons if you already have a conviction. This law also applies to an attempted offense, or if you were a juvenile that would have received a felony conviction if you had been an adult.
The most severe penalties for a first-time offender are up to three years in prison and a fine of $100,000. Punishments can vary. The previous crime and how long it has been since the conviction all contribute to the sentence.
Colorado law also denotes certain weapons as “dangerous and illegal weapons.” Convictions for dangerous weapons are not limited to those with prior felony convictions. A first-time offender could face three years of jail time. Repeat offenders could get as much as six years. Weapons that could land you a felony charge are:
- Ballistic knives
- Short shotguns
- Short rifles
- Silenced firearms
- Machine guns
You could also face charges if you are in possession of a “deadly weapon,” including metallic knuckles or any type of reinforced club-like weapon.
It is also unlawful to misuse weapons, no matter your previous convictions. Behaviors like pointing a gun at someone, recklessly firing a bow and arrow or intentionally aiming projectiles like throwing stars are all misuse under the law. These misdemeanors could bring you up to a year in jail and $1,000 in fines.