The penalties associated with felonies in Colorado
The commission of a crime in Colorado can lead to serious consequences no matter your criminal record. The most serious crimes are those that are charged as felonies. Depending on the level, or class, of felony charge, you could find yourself facing years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines. Let’s take a look at the penalties related to felony charges in the state of Colorado in today’s post.
Felony charges are divided into five classes under Colorado law, with a Class 1 charge being the worst. A Class 1 felony conviction can come with life in prison or even the death penalty. There is no monetary fine associated with a Class 1 felony conviction.
A Class 2 felony conviction comes with a sentence ranging from eight to 12 years in prison with one year of parole. This felony charge comes with a monetary fine ranging from $5,000 to $1 million.
A Class 3 felony conviction can lead to a sentence ranging from four to eight years in prison and one year of parole. The fine associated with this felony charge ranges in value from $3,000 to $750,000.
A Class 4 felony conviction comes with a prison sentence ranging from two to four years with one year of parole. A fine ranging from $2,000 to $500,000 can also be assessed by the court.
A Class 5 felony conviction can lead to a prison sentence ranging from one to two years and one year of parole. The fine ranges from $1,000 to $100,000.
Now that you know the penalties associated with a felony charge, you can prepare for your case. Facing a felony charge can change your life, which is why you should always seek the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney and not try to represent yourself in court.